Monday, December 13, 2010

Lydia is Lazy..

hello all. It's Lydia (duh), and I'm going to be really lazy today. I'm going to list the top 25 most listened to songs on my iPod (according to iTunes) and make comments, because i'm tired and lazy right now. i hope you enjoy!

25. "I Want You" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - this song is awesome, even though it talks about drugs...but i mean, that's sorta who joan is!
24. "Hell is for Children" by Pat Benatar - ok, i know the title sounds horrible, but it's about child abuse, and its sad. if your heart breaks easily, don't listen to this song.
23. "Cherry Bomb" by The Runaways - ok, this song is slut central. BUT it was written in 1975 by a group if 15 year old girls...
22. "Love is a Battlefield" by Pat Benatar - best of her music videos. and the song is so true. love is a frikin battlefield.
21. "The Only Exception" by Paramore - i have an only exception.
20. "21 Guns" by Green Day - it's about giving up, and knowing when you've been beat. screw optimism.
19. "Welcome to Paradise" by Green Day - is it talking about christmas break? i think so.
18. "School Days" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - i hate school. and this song makes me feel better, knowing that i'm not the only one.
17. "I Love Rock N Roll" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - no explanation needed. who isnt in love with rock n roll?
16. "21st Century Breakdown" by Green Day - my generation is zero.
15. "Queens of Noise" by The Runaways - great song about how girls can rock just as hard as guys.
14. "All I Wanted" by Paramore - all i wanted was you...
13. "Turn it Off" by Paramore - it talks about how technology can be talking over our life. it's still an amazing song.
12. "We Are Broken" by Paramore - i cannot figure out what this song is about. i get that it's about a song about  a relationship that went bad, but i can't figure out the meat of the song...i sort of like it that was.
11. "Know Your Enemy" by Green Day - i have so many enemies, this just fits in at #11
10. "Emergency" by Paramore - about divorce. very fitting. thanks mom and dad.
9. "Paperback Writer" by The Beatles - how did this manage to be the only beatles song on this list? i don't comprehend...
8. "Ignorance" by Paramore - hehe. some people can be so ignorant.
7. "Boulevard of Broken Dreams" by Green Day -this kind of explains my life right now. "my shadows the only one that walks beside me, my shallow hearts the only thing thats beating, sometimes i wish someone out there will find me. till then, i walk alone" has an amazing video too.
6. "Feeling Sorry" by Paramore - "we've got no time for feeling sorry" (we don't)
5. "All We Know" by Paramore - i love this song. over the summer, everything i knew fell.
4. "Basket Case" by Green Day - this is possibly the best music video ever. just go watch it.
3. "Playing God" by Paramore - please, just trust me, awesome video and song. and...yeah...
2. "Bad Reputation" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts - this song is SO badass!!! its totally me.
1. "Misery Business" by Paramore - there will be no comments about this song. i love it.

now someone explain to me how ONLY green day, paramore, pat, joan, the runaways and ONE beatles song made it to this list....WHERE IS THE BON JOVI? AC/DC? KISS? EUROPE? DEF LEPPARD? ZEPPLIN? NIRVANA? VAN HALEN?
some please explain this to me.
i do not comprehend.
"well, i'll still say that you shine brighter than anyone!!" "brighter" by paramore. this song was #26. it made me sad that it just barely missed the cut. i love this song,

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Best of 2010 Survey

Hello Everyone! It's Lydia, and I found this survey on Khy's blog, and it made me excited, so I decided I should do it as well. I do realizee that it's not the end of 2010 yet, but if it really needs to be changed, i will come back and edit it wit new books (if they make the list). It was originally posted on The Perpetual Page Turner. I was going to put covers with these, but I listed so many books, it's just not possible, plus a lot of books have covers with their reviews. Here goes:

Books of 2010:

Best Book of 2010:
This is REALLY, REALLY hard, but I'm going to have to say it's a three way tie between: Hate List by Jennifer Brown (my review for this is horrible, and I want to do a new one SOON), Thirteen Reasons Why and The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz. Also Khy (hello again Khy) keeps mentioning Anna and the French Kiss (by Stephanie Perkins) on her blog, so I got the free sample on iBooks on my iPod, and OMG. This book was AWESOME. So, it'd be a four-way tie, except I haven't finished Anna and The French Kiss.

Worst Book of 2010:
The Black Sheep by Sandy Rideout and Yvonne Collins. I'm sorry, but I didn't even finish this book (SO RARE) it was just no good at all. I couldn't read big chunks of it at a time, it wasn't my favorite.

Most Dissapointing Book of 2010:
I think I'm going to have to go with That Summer by Sarah Dessen. I know that in the YA world that last sentace was pratcially a crime, but I just wasn't a fan of it......I LOVE SARAH DESSEN TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH AND BACK, but That Summer just wasn't for me. Another would be Teen, Inc. by Stefan Petrucha. I just plain didn't like this book...

Most Surprising (in a good way) Book of 2010:
The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie by Jaclyn Moriarty, for sure. This book surprised the hell out of me! After the frist hundred or so pages, I was about to give up, then the ending twist came, and I was like: WOAH! What just happened?! I was reading it at lumch (that's your anti-social Lydia for you), and I sort of look up at the hustle and bustle of a High School cafeteria, and was like what if this is all a conspiracy?? It was awesome!

Book You Reccomended Most to People in 2010:
This is a billion way tie, because I tell lots of people about lots of books, and yeah... I'll just make a list: all three books from the first question, Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen, Between a Heart and a Rock Place: A Memoir by Pat Benatar (which reminds me, i need to post a review for that, the link is for Amy's annoncement of it's release date), Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty, and The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart. AMAZING BOOKS.

Best Series You Discovered in 2010:
Ok, this is a tie between The Ruby Oliver Novels by E. Lockhart, and the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld. I haven't finished either of these series, but they are both totally AMAZING, and would reccomend to everyone who reads this blog!

Favorite New Authors You Discovered in 2010:
Novel Authors: Sarah Ockler, Scott Westerfeld, Jennifer Brown, C.J. Omloulu, E. Lockhart, Yvonne Prinz, Brian Lee, Ellen Hopkins, Sophie Kinsella, Robin Benway, Carrie Ryan, and SO MANY MORE.
Memoir Authors: Pat Benatar, Cherie Currie, Ozzy Osbourne and a few more

Most Hilarious Read of 2010:
This is hard. Twenty Boy Summer, and The Boyfriend List would defently be my top two.

Most Thrilling, Unputdownable Book of 2010:
I have three: Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen. I got this book from PaperBackSwap, sat down in this big, plushy chair I have, and read it, from start to finish. It wasn't thrilling persay, but it was really good, and got through the action quick. By far my favorite Dessen read. Number two was Fang by James Patterson. This is the fifth (?) book in the Maximum Ride Series, (which if you have not read, you are insane), and it is AWESOME. The last one is Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omolou. This book hit me like one of our famous southern heat waves. It was a topic I didn't really understand, (and now that they're covering it one Degrassi, I get it now) and that's what made it so awesome. They were so detailed to the point where it was almost making fun of hoarders. She was standing on that thin white line between perfect and a complete mess.

Book You Most Anticipated in 2010:
Hate List by Jennifer Brown. No Question.

Favorite Cover of a Book You Read in 2010:
Two options:

(The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz and Hate List by Jennifer Brown)

Most Memorable Charachter of 2010:
Gosh...this is really hard.
Allie (aka the Vinyl Princess) was totally awesome!
Valerie (from Hate List) was awesome.
Ruby Oliver (she just wins by default)
Hannah (from Thirteen Reasons Why)
Jazz (from Define "Normal" by Julie Anne Peters)
Lydia, Emily and Cass (The Year of Secret Assignments)
Anna, Frankie and Matt (Twenty Boy Summer)

Most Beautifully Written Book in 2010:
This is really easy: The Forest Of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan. I'm reading thi right now, and so far: AMAZING. It's written so well, I'm now a huge Carrie Ryan fan!

Book That Had the Greatest Impact On You in 2010:
I don't know..Hate List hit me hard, and so did Wintergirls (by Laurie Halse Anderson, love her!). I think I read Speak last year, but it's still going on this Survey. Speak was the most moving book I've read (probably other than the Bible) and I reread it often.

Book You Can't Believe You Waited UNTIL 2010 to Read:
Uglies by Scott Westerfeld.

Book Blogging in 2010 (optional):

New Favorite Blog You Discovered in 2010:
I Love Maddz from Slightly Bookish, and Larissa from Larissa's Bookish Life! There are SO many more that I would love to list, but I don't have time. Sorry other wonderful bloggers! i still love you!

Favorite Review You Wrote in 2010:
I loved my review of The Vinyl Princess! Not to sound really braggy, but either that one or my review of Someone Like You. Either one of those would be my top two.

Best Discussion You Had On Your Blog:
Ok, hands down this is the post that Amy and I wrote together when we were on the trip to my aunt's beach house. Here is the link, if you were wondering.

Most Thought Provoking Review or Discussion You've read on Somebody Else's blog:
This survey. Mostly because it's fun.
Best Book-Related Even You've Participated in:
When Amy and I went to see Liz Kessler. It was so hilarious, because Amy loves mermaid books, and she gets tounge tied in front of authors and such, so I had  to talk for her. I totally wish someone had been recording that! We had to drive an hour to get there, then three hours back to Amy's house. It was so fun because Amy talked about it for days after.

Best Moment of Book Blogging in 2010:
See above, or the whole Speak Loudly thing. I didn't get much into it in the blog, but it was still a big deal to me, because Speak and Twenty Boy Summer are two of my favorite books.

Best Bookish Discovery of 2010:
Um....Pat Benatar's memoir? I'm not really sure what this question is asking...

Woah! This is for sure the LONGEST POST EVER. I feel very special. goodbye for now.
oh, and i've decided that i'm going to end each post with a quote, either movie or music.
"i wanna rock n roll all night! and party every day!" -"rock n roll all night" by KISS

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

Music Video: "Playing God" by Paramore

It's Lydia (again), and I am writing my first ever music video review, and I am proud to say that the artist is one of my top three favorite bands. Paramore is tied with The Runaways and Bon Jovi for my number one spot. Ok, moving on. The song is "Playing God" and here is the music video:

"Playing God" by Paramore

Ok, I realize that you have to go to YouTube to watch it, but again this is my first time. Please forgive. Here is my review:

I am in love with this song, but have mixed feeling about the video. I love the part where Hayley is in the basement, screaming to the guys who are all roped up. I love the whole "rope" theme that was throughout the enitre music video. Also, where they showed the empty frames that are on the back cover of Brand New Eyes.
Some things, that I need to point out that were'nt my favorite, like when they were at the table and....well...all of that. Also, Hayley's dresses throughout the video. I'm not a fan of dresses, and I just plain didn't like those.
Did anyone else notice that when they were in the basement, with the guys roped up, and the single lightbulb hanging down over them, the set looked really similar to the set for the "Ignorance" video? It might just be me though.

Overall, this music video was fun, quirky, and totally Paramore. LOVED IT!

rock on!

Tuesday, November 9, 2010


Yes, you read right! Today is the release day for Bon Jovi Greatest Hits: The Ultimate Collection. I love Bon Jovi and am so extremely happy that they have a greatest hits out. They are one of my all-time favorite bands, and if you've never heard of Bon Jovi or never listened to any of their songs, then you are either a. living under a rock b. are stuck in an aslyum with no internet (which would make no sense, how are you reading this??) or c. delusinal. The track list for this awesome, AWESOME album consist of:

"Livin On A Prayer"
"You Give Love A Bad Name"
"It's My Life"
"Have A Nice Day"
"Wanted Dead or Alive"
"Bad Medicine"
"We Weren't Born to Follow"
"I'll Be There For You"
"Born to Be My Baby"
"Blaze of Glory"
"Who Say's You Can't Go Home?" (deut featuring Jennifer Nettles)
"Lay Your Hands On Me"
"I These Arms"
"Someday I'll Be Saturday Night"
"Lost Highway"
"Keep the Faith"
"When We Were Beautiful"
"Bed of Roses"
"This Ain't a Love Song"
"These Days"
"(You Want To) Make A Memory"
"Blood on Blood"
"What Do You Got"
"No Apologies"
"This is Love This is Life"
"The More Things Change"

Wow, that was a lot. Did you read that?? FOUR all new tracks!?! I must get on iTunes NOW and get these new songs. If you don't know Bon Jovi to start with "Livin On A Prayer", "I'd Die For You" (not on there) or "Wanted Dead or Alive". But I promise you, you may think you've never heard Bon Jovi, but you have. Unless you're in an asylum, like I said earlier. Alright, go get some Bon Jovi!!!
rock on!!

Sunday, November 7, 2010

Top Five Songs of the Week

Hello. It is Lydia, and Amy and I have decided that, even though we review books. We are music junkies too. So, it seems fit that we review some music as well... And as you can see, we've changed out name! music, books, and other things we love! I'd love comments on the new name/direction we're going. But for now, I'm going to start us off with a Top 5 Songs of the Week. Later, this might become a meme, but we're just starting, so we'll see how it goes. Also, this is not gonna be sugary pop, it's gonna be real music. Our favorite songs this week.

5. "The Final Countdown" by Europe
Genre: Metal
Best line: "it's the final countdown!!!"
Ok. I first hear this on Metal Mania  on VH1 Classic, and fell in love. The guitar is epic, the words fit, the time is right (5:20), and the beat works so well. I love this song. And Europe.

4. "Playing God" by Paramore
Genre: Alternative
Best Line: "how could that be logical? just keep on cramming ideas down my throat!" OR "it's just my humble opinion, but it's one that i believe in"
I love Paramore, and this is one of my favorite songs by them, and kind of defines some stuff for me. Plus it had two best lines! Which rocks. Amy gave me their latest CD, Brand New Eyes this summer, and I love it. Guitars are played, drums are bashed, lyrics are yelled. That is Paramore.

3. "Love is Pain" by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
Genre: Rock
Best Line: "you listen true, i will make you black and blue!"
I love Joan Jett. She's awesome, and this is one of my favorite songs by her. One of the best female rockers of the 80's, and she's still with a band. Amy said that (i think on The Runaways movie comentary) that she says (about The Runaways breaking up) "We were coming of age. What were we running away from?" I love  that, but I love The Runaways.

2. "I'd Die For You" by Bon Jovi
Genre: Rock
Best Line: "in a world that don't know romeo and juliet!!"
Bon Jovi rocks. This is my favorite of their songs. And currently on my favorite show, this defines the relatonship between my two favorite charachters. (Degrassi, Eli and Clare. I love Eli....but I'm talking about music, not TV...ok Lydia, Eli can wait...) Plus look at that line! That is one of my favorite quotes ever!! It's epic. Go buy this song. Now.

1. "Misery Business" by Paramore
Genre: Alternative
Best Line: "i'm in the business of misery, let's take it from the top."
This is my #2 favorite song of all time. My number 1 is coming later in the future. I think I love this song so much because I can play it on guitar hero, and I like Paramore's early stuff All We Know Is Falling and Riot! are my two favorite of their (3) albums. The guitar is awesome, the drums are awesome, and Hayley's vocals are amazing! Thanks for this hit Paramore!

So, again, I want your comments on the new name!!
rock on!

Sunday, October 31, 2010

In My Mailbox (Lydia)

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! It's Lydia and it's time for....In My Mailbox!! Im My Mailbox is a weekly meme started by The Story Siren and inspired by Pop Culture Junkie. Ok, What Lydia got this week....

And Then I Found Out The Truth by Jennifer Sturman (Sequel to And Then Everything Unravled. You can find my review here)
I really liked the first one, and when I found out that it had a seqeul, I got it out of the library as fast as I could. Hopefully it will live up the the hype in the first one.

Little Blog on the Prairie by Cathleen Davitt Bell
This book looks really, really cute. I loved the Little House books, and a takeoff would be cool, so hopefully this is good.

The Local News by Miriam Gershow
I'm not totally sure if this book is YA or what, but it looks to be good. Plus there's a charachter named Lydia. If you read my last post, you will find out I enjoy books with my name in it. \\

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May and June by Robin Benway
Robin Benway wrote Audrey, Wait!, a book which I read this summer, and will hopefully have a review for ASAP. This looks so AWESOME! I love mysterious books, and this looks mysterious. Awesome, right?

The Ghosts of Ashbury High by Jaclyn Moriarty
I love this author. She wrote The Year of Secret Assignments which I loved and reviewed yesterday! Here is the post. So, in this book, it looks like this is a different story, but she brought back Lydia, Emily and Cassie from The Year of Secret Assignments. I love it when authors bring in charachters from their last books (espically when it's not a sequel)! I'm excited for this book!

The Snowball Effect by Holly Nicole Hoxter
I'm not sure if this is a Tenner, Deb or whatever, but halfway through it and it's AWESOME! I can't wait to finish and review it!

The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
Ok, Zombies are totally my thing right now, and Amy told me this is about zombies, so naturally when I went to Barnes and Noble (alone, which I should add, it not very safe) I had to purchase it. It looks good. I had to go to the eye doctor yesterday (my mom wants me to get contacts), and I tried to read it, but there were two problems with that 1. before I went in there, House was on TV and it's one of my favorite shows, so I had to watch it. and 2. When I came out, the dialation was so bad I couldn't read..

So there's my IMM for this week! What's everyone (who celebrates it) doing for Halloween!? I LOVE Haloween, but this year I might be stuck handing out candy at my aunt's house. She has a new baby, and doesn't want the doorbell ringing all night..Oh well, I'm going to see if some kids let me take pics of their cool costumes! If they let me, I will give them extra candy!!! Also if they let me, I will post some of the cute ones here!
rock on!

Friday, October 29, 2010

The Year of Secrets Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty

Hello wonderful readers! Lydia here, and don't worry, I'm trying to get Amy to post, but she's got a TON of homework. So, because I'm not doing well on my coming-up-with-other-ideas-other-than-reviewing plan, i guess that I have another review...

The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty (back of book)
The Ashbury-Brookfield pen pal program is designed to bring together the two rival schools in a spirit of harmony and "the Joy of the Envelope." But when Cassie, Lydia, and Emily send their first letters to Matthew, Charlie, and Sebastian, things don't go quite as planned. What starts out as a simple letter exchange soon leads to secret missions, false alarms, lock picking, mistaken identities, and an all-out war between the schools--not to mention some really excellent kissing.

Ok, the main reason that I picked up this book was because there is a main charachter names Lydia. You don't see many Lydia's, so it made me excited. You get excited when your name is in a book. Or at least I do, because there are only a few books I have ever found that have my name in it.
I read The Year of Secret Assignments at camp, and absolutly loved it. It was really cute, and the charachter Lydia is extremely similar to me! Like, at the beginning, she was testing to see how smoke decetors worked, and that is TOTALLY something I would do!
Lydia, Cassie, Emily, Matthew, Charlie and Sebastian (Seb) are some of the funniest and wittiest charachters I've ever read about. I loved how at the beginning of the pen pal program, Lydia and Seb were testing to see if their teachers actually read their letters. They decided to pretend like they were selling pot (or some other drug), and it made me laugh out loud (legitly) during "rest hour" at camp.
Overall The Year of Secret Assignments was one of the funniest books I've ever read. If you've never read this book, you must go to the store, or library, or wherever and get our hands on a copy of this book NOW!

so there is my review for Friday/Saturday. I will be back on Sunday (HALLOWEEN!!!!! I LOVE HALLOWEEN SOOO MUCH!!) for my IMM.
rock on! ~lydia~

Monday, October 25, 2010

The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz

It's Lydia, and as I promised you, i have an epic review!! I'm kind of out of my reading slump, so we'll see how much more I get read. Right now I'm reading She Theif by Daniel Finn. It's pretty good, but nowhere near The Vinyl Princess.

The Vinyl Princess by Yvonne Prinz (description from inside of book)
How does a sixteen-year-old vinyl junkie get by?
Summer is here and Allie is excatly where she wants to be: working full time at the ultra-cool Bob & Bob Records in Berkeley. Here Allie can spend her say bantering with the street people, talking the talk with the staff. shepherding the uncool bridge-and-tunnel shoppers-all while blissfully surrounded by music, music, music. It's the perfect setup for her to deelop her secret identiy as The Vinyl Princess. Her very first ine is about ready to print and her new blog,, is up and running. From the saftey of her favorite place on earth, Allie's poised to launch a vinl revolution-or at least reach some fellow music geeks out there.
They are out there....aren't they?

Ok, as I said, this is now my #2 favorite book ever. (Harry Potter is at an eternal reign as #1). Allie is the perfect charachter. I want to be Allie so much. She is awesome! I love the whole mysterious "M" boy at the beginning of the book, and the end result with him. I am a vinyl junkie as well, or at least a beginner collector, so this book was perfect for me.
Another thing I absolutly LOVE about this book, is that there are just about no cliches! Cliches are boring, and annoying, and take a lot out of books. Allie and Kit are the perfect best friends, total oppisites, and I loved Kit's road trip idea! I think Amy and I should do that sometime! (Just kidding Mom.....maybe ;D) I also think that the whole mysterious Zach thing was really cute, and how they had their musical banter. I so wish I had a Zach in my life :D
Yvonne Prinz is the cofounder of Amoeba Records (aka the world's largest independant record store AND a place I need to visit), and that makes her probably one of the third or forth most important musical-related women in my life. Pat Benatar, Joan Jett and Hayley Williams are the top three. I went on their website last night, and found out that Bob and Bob's Records is based on the first Amoeba Records store which is legit on Telegraph Ave in Berkely, CA, which is where The Vinyl Princess  is set!!!
Overall, The Vinyl Princess is one of the best books I have ever read. It shows the true personality of all music and vinyl freaks out there. We are real, and The Vinyl Princess shows the world how awesome we are, whether other people like it or not.

So, you all know now how much this book means to me. It is so awesome and every single person who read this post needs to go and get this book from the library, or buy it, or whatever, but you need to get it and read it. Ok, I have been reduced to rambling, I need to read. goodbye wonderful blog readers!

Sunday, October 24, 2010

i have an amazing review coming up

Hello dear readers (if there are any left). It's Lydia and I know it's been, like amonth since I posted, but do not worry, I still love you all. I am actually posting this from the library, becuase...well I've looked at the shelves twice already, and don't want to leave.
BUT I found this AMAZING book that I have started and will post a review for ASAP. Let me give you a preview of this book.
Ok, If this does not look amazing, you must be insane. It's about this girl, Allie (I swear I want to be her) who's brain might as well be a encyclopedia of music. She loves vinyl (hence the name), and wants to start a revolution against downloading.
In my opinion, I agree with her, vinyl is SO MUCH BETTER, but I need my iPod for the 45 minute drive between my parents' houses every few days, and thus downloading....
So, I hope to review The Vinyl Princess soon, but we'll see how much work my Bio teacher gives me tomorrow....

long live vinyl!

Sunday, September 26, 2010

In My Mailbox

Hello wonderful blog readers!! Lydia here, and I have an IMM for you this week! In My Mailbox is a weekly meme started by Kristy over at The Story Siren. This will probably be a pretty short post, because I did not get many books this week. Also, same rule apply as the last post where I listed books, like with italics and such.

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen - see below post
Dreamland by Sarah Dessen - I've started this already, and it's pretty good.
Amazing Grace by Megan Shull - this book was not really good or worth reviewing

Ok, so those are all the important books that I have received this week, and yes I had a low book week, and I need to get Zombies vs. Unicorns or I might die. So yes, how was everyone else's weeks??

Friday, September 24, 2010

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen

Lydia here, and last night i started this book at like 9:30, and kept reading until i finished this 300 (give or take 20) page book two and a half hours later. SO FREAKIN WORTH IT! Here we go:

Someone Like You by Sarah Dessen (back of book)
Halley and Scarlett have been best friends ever since they met. Halley has always been the quiet one, Scarlett braver and more outgoing. Halley has always turned to Scarlett when things get rough, and Scarlett has always known just what to do. It's the perfect setup. But everything changes at the beginning of their junior year. Scarlett's boyfriend is killed in a motorcycle accident; then Scarlett finds out that she is carrying his baby. For the first time ever, Scarlett really needs Halley. Now Halley has to learn how to be strong for Scarlett. It won't be easy, but Halley knows that she can't let Scarlett doiwn. Because a true friend is a promise you keep forever.

OH. MY. GOSH. This book is amazing. Sarah Dessen is one of my all-time favorite authors, and this book just shot to a very high postion on my list of favorite books. There are twists and turns that kept me reading until midnight. It's the only book that I've ever read in one sitting.
The charachter's relationships seemed so real, it was like I was transported everywhere Halley and Scarlett went. The role that Mason played with Halley and that he was Michael's best friend made everything more intense. That first time that Halley is tempted with trying sex, was so different than any other I've read. The way she was different with everyone she knew (her mom, Scarlett, Macon ect.) was facinating and easy to relate to. All the charachters had a good history together, and you could tell Sarah [Dessen] spent time molding the charachters into what they were ment to be.
For some reason I am attracted to books with depression, death, or teenage pregnacy in them. Please do not ask me why, but I just like reading about those things, and Someone Like You had two of those three things, so this book was considered amazing to me. Thank you Sarah Dessen for all your awesome books!!

for those of you who care, I'm currently reading Dreamland by Sarah Dessen (who else??) and hope to post again tomorrow!!!!
ps-i've stopped doing toodles. for some reason it does not speak to me as much anymore...

Tuesday, September 21, 2010


Hey everyone! Lydia here, and I know it has been forever since I posted, but I just wanted to let you know that Amy and I are both alive and not dying of some flesh eating disease or something equally horrifying that would keep me from posting on this magnificent blog to all my wonderful readers. All seven (8?) of you. Ok, so this post is not really a review or anything special, it is just Lydia droning on and on about what it going on in her life, book-related or otherwise.
So, today I went to this creative writing class at the community college near me, and it was epic. Like we started this first class getting to know each other, and because it was all adults we could talk about music. (FYI if you do not know me or Amy, we love classic rock, like from the eighties and stuff..) it was cool, plus we have a writing assignment for next week, which is to write about something that you think about a lot. I know this is going to sound stupid, but I can't figure out what to write, so if you can help me, please post a comment about what i should write about.
I think biology is trying to kill me. I have decided that it is my worst enemy and conjugating French verbs is its sidekick. Why do I not get a sidekick?? Am I not cool enough for a sidekick?? No fair.
I think Id should update you on the books that I am reading. Yes books, plural. Oh, and I know it is grammerly correct to write book titles in italics, but I am tired, and doing this on my aunts iPad, and therefore it is too difficult to do..
1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling.
Yea, I have already read this book. I am rereading it before the movie comes out in like November. I realize this is stupid because I will finish it by like the end of the week.
2. Amazing Grace by Megan Shull
This is a cute book, but the second I am reading about a celebrity who goes into hiding, so the plots are getting mixed up
3. Guitar Girl by Sarra Manning
This book is great. Look for it in an upcoming review.
4. Rebel by Willo Davis Roberts
I'm mot sire if this book is YA or MG, so we'll have to see how I like it.
5. True Confessions of a Hollywood Starlet by Lola Douglas
Really sugary title, and kind of a sugary book, but i got it at a half price book sale and it had a waterproof cover, so I guess it's worth finishing...
GUESS WHAT CAME OUT TODAY?!?! That's right, zombies vs unicorns. If you are not aware of what this book it, you are living under a rock. So, go buy it.
Ok, I need to sleep. . Goodnight.

Sunday, August 22, 2010

No IMM This Week....

Secrets of My Hollywood Life: Broadway Lights by Jen Calonita

Hollywood teen queen Kaitlin Burke packs up her entourage (showbiz family, friends, assistant, and publicist, but unfortionatly not the dreamy boyfriend) and moves to the Big Apple for the summer for her Broadway debut. Kaitlin is the toast of the town and she hits the most exclusive New York nightspots, enjoys the best food (Hello, Magnolia Bakery!), and even guests as a celebrity host on Saturday Night Live!
But the acity that never sleeps isn't all cupcakes and virgin daiquiris. Long distance and a handsome new costar puts a strain on Kaitlin's relationship with Austin, and it turns out Broadway os a whole different breed of neurosis and compteion from Hollywood starlets.

I really like this series, and I'm glad that Jen wrote it where she went to New York, and that Liz could come with her. The storyline of this one, was better than the one before. One thing that I liked about this, was how it was LONG. I'm into long books right now, and I guess that just something weird about me.....
Ok, i think it's obvious I'm in a reviewing slump right now, and you can tell by the really suckiness of my review....Please forgive. I haven't done a good review in a while....


Tuesday, August 10, 2010

back to school....

hello wonderful readers! Lydia (me) isback in school :(  and so I need a fun review. Another Natasha Friend is a good post to start the school year! ALSO I want to send a BIGGGGG thank you to Ari of Teens Actually Read who gave us a blog award!!!!!!!! We are going to post more about that later though. So, onto the review!

Perfect by Natasha Friend (back of book)
Isabelle Lee has a problem. And it's not just her little sister, April (aka Ape Face), who has just ratted her out to their mother. It's not even Group, which she now attends once a week as part of "the deal" with her mother. The problem is, everything seems "fine" at home, but in fact Isabelle's family is still reeling from the death of her father. Isabelle's mother has taken all the pictures of him off the walls and cries herself to sleep every night. When April catches Isabelle in the bathroom, forcing herself to throw up, Isabelle can't bribe her to stay quiet and ends up in "Eating Disorder and Body Image Therapy Group". Trapped in a room with no air circulation and orange carpet, Isabelle is amazed when Ashley Barnum, the prettiest, most popular girl is school-aka Royalty-walks through the door.

I love Natasha Friend. So by default, I have to love this book. The charachters were so funny. I loved Ashley and her effect she had on Isabelle. When they were hanging out at her house, the way that she seemed to be such a natural, it kind of surprised me. I haven't read that many books about bulimic girls, but for some reasons, I like those kind of books, like about kids with problems....weird, huh? I guess I'm just weird. But overall, this book was so cute and sweet and good!!


Saturday, July 31, 2010

Teen Inc. by Stefan Petrucha

I (Lydia) actually read this book a while ago, and it was ok, so I'm going to review it. Also, Amy has a lot of books to review (end quote), so if there are two posts today, so be it. That's just how awesome we are.

Teen, Inc. by Stefan Petrucha (inside flap of the book)

Jaiden Beale has it all: a killer plasma TV, top-of-the-line computer, a ton of video games and his own bathroom. He has it all, that is, except a family. Instead he has NECorp.
When Jaiden's parent's were killed by faulty equipment manufactured by NECorp, the company decided to adopt baby Jaiden as its own. Now, fourteen years later, a team of executives decides what school he goes to, who is friends are, and even who he is allowed to date. Jaiden just wante to live a "normal" life, but nobody gets to choose his parents....right?
When he uncovers some damaging fnformation about the company, Jaiden's loyalty to NECorp is tested. Can he betray the only family he's ever known in order to do what he feels is right?

When I started out reading this book, it was blah. Then as I got more and more into it, I could not read large chunks of it at one time. Overall, when I was reading it, it wasn't my favorite. But when I was done, and thinkng about what had view on the book changed a little. The charachters were created well in their scenes, but when Jaiden is on his study date withe the girl (abby? I don't remember...), they didn't seem to mix well...But most ofeverything else worked. I liked how the team Jaiden had all these meetings, and funny!

Well, that's all for now! I'm going to go find a cookie!

Thursday, July 29, 2010


Hey y'all!! It's Lydia, and I just got back from camp today, so I am makng sure that I post. I have not posted in over a month, and it makes me VERY sad! I'm really sorry that I haven't been able to post. While I was at camp, I started the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, and have been LOVING IT. I am currently on the third one, Specials. IT IS SO FREAKING AMAZING!!!! I would recomend it to any teenager!!! I will post a full review later, when I have time. Right now, I have to go eat my taco.....yum!

Saturday, June 19, 2010


Hey! It's Amy, and the title of this post goes to the AMAZING Pat Benatar!! Her memoir Between a Heart and a Rock Place came out on Tuesday. She is my favorite singer and my role model. I was so excited (as you can imagine) when I heard she wrote a book! Congrats, Pat! And I can't wait to see you in concert soon!!!!!!!!

Monday, June 14, 2010

New Layout!!

Ok, so it seems like everyone in the YA blogging world is changing their layout. Since, we are new here, we thought we should go with the flow. Like (just to give examples) our buddy, Khy (The Frenetic Reader), and Kristi (The Story Siren) have both changed their layouts for the better. We are so fancy now! Anyway, we are currently hanging out for a few days, so decided to do another Buddy Blog! :D

We really don't have anything to talk about, but when we got back from dinner, we went up to use my (Lydia) aunt's computer. We are trying to take a good profile picture, and also watching book reviews on YouTube. So, we are now going to show you are many attempts. When you look at our profile picture, you will see which one was the best.

Amy: I think my hair looks bad
Lydia: I like it!! Mine's in a ponytail, like it always is...besides this is our first attempt, it's allowed to suck!
A: So you admit my hair looks bad!
L: No! It looks fine! Oh, and for the people who haven't figured it out yet, I'm the one on the left, holdng Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, and Amy is on the right.

L: I love this shirt! This is me showing the people of the world my amazing shirt! Amy says that it describes me....probably because I like to write!
A:This is how we usually look.....
L: with you looking at me like "how the hell did this girl escape from her mental hospital??"
L: maybe that says more about you than me...
A: Hey! I didn't escape from the loony bin!
L: i was NEVER in know what....lets just go on to the next picture!

A: Need I say more??
L: yes.
A: There's so many ways I could put this....
L: does it involve me in a straight jacket?
A: "standing in a room made up of only big white walls..."-Fences, Paramore
L: oh, by the way people who read our blog...we also LOVE the band, paramore!! Shout out to Hayley and her awesome hair!! we're listening to their music now!
A: I look like the boring one!
L: well.....
A: ...

L: you're a good pillow, except for your bony shoulder!!
A: Well, don't put your head on it! This shows Lydia, a little more calmed down.
L: i'm going to go get a brownie!!
A:I want one!!!
(both exit)
(both return)
L: you realize that this is not safe, right?
A: Well, soon I'll be just as hyped up as you!
L: is that even possible??
A: With a brownie, anything is possible!
(maims Lydia)
L: OW!!
A: You can have the rest! Ya butthead
L: do you want to keep doing this instead of uploading more pictures? we have all week to upload pictures!!
A: I don't think the eight people who read this, would want to hear us babble about nothing when they came for book reviews....
L: who cares? its our blog, this is fun, and i'll post a review tomorrow if you want!
A: Well, fine! We drew on our Converse today....
L: mine failed
A: I like yours!
L: i like the green and purple stripes on yours!!!! so amazing!
A: Not really. I wanna go swimming
L: it's almost 11 at night and both my mom and grandmother are asleep. We can't swim after 10 alone. I sorry.
A:Shoot fire crud dog gone it....Indiana Jones????
L: u need a hug?
A: From Indiana Jones, hell yes!!!
(Lydia hugs Amy)
L: are you satisfied now? plus when we get up early in the morning, if i am injured in any way by you, or anything attached to you (clothes...ect) you will pay, sunscreen queen!
A: 1. Am I satisfied?? Are you Harrison Ford??? 2. I can't promise anything (I'm not a morning person) 3. I have pale skin and my mom always annoys me about stupid sunscreen.....
L: 1. no, but I do have spidey senses!! 2. you better not injure me, especially if i will be standing on a freakin ladder! 3. im not even going to comment on that...
A: you don't have any spider powers or any senses that don't include the normal five!!
L: um, i think i do.....
A: Oh really?? Let's see you shoot a web from your hand and swing on buildings like freakin King Kong!!
L: i never said i had spiderMAN senses! i just said spidey senses!!
A: Same thing!
L: um no it's not....lets just drop the subject and talk about books!
A: ok....I'm reading too many and haven't finished one in a while!
L: i'm trying to finish Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen, and I really want to finish it at the beach tomorrow!
A: I want to finish Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson, but I have a book to read for school!
L: we'll read pleasure at the beach, and school stuff at the house! i'm getting tired...
~amy and lydia~

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Busy, Busy, Busy!!

I've been really busy lately, like I just got back from an amazing retreat with my church, and I'm going to the beach with my brother and dad this week, and with Amy next week!! Then, I'm helping out at my church's VBS, then camp!!!! So, as you van see I'm really busy, and will not have that much time to post soon. So here is a review for now!

11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass (description from inside flap of book)
On their first birhtday, they learned to walk. On their fifth, they planted seeds in handmade pots. On their tenth, they learned there are some words you can never take back.
Amanda's eleventh birthday should have been a happy occasion. Instead she's dressed in an itchy cosutme he mother picked out for her Hollywood-themed party (Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz, even though the flying monkey always creeped her out). Meanwhile. across town, her ex-best friend, Loe is celebratingtheir joint brithday with a huge bash including a hypnotist, a football star, a giant iguana and a rock band. SO not fair!
Amanda can't wait for the day AFTER her birthday so she can stop thinking about the fight that led her and Leo to have seperate parties for the first time in their lives. There's just one problem. The next day is her birthday all over again.

I LOVE this book! I've talked about it before, but never revied it. I love Wendy Mass, and love the charachters. They work well toghether and the writing is amazing. Wow, this review sucks. I'm sorry. I'm so tired. I have to go.

Sunday, May 30, 2010

Another Review...

It's Lydia, and I have another review. As I said in my last post, I know that reviews are boring somethies, so I'm looking for ideas of things to post about OTHER than reviews! Thanks!

The Good Girl by Kerry Cohen Hoffmann (summary from inside flap of the book)
Ever since her brother Mark's accidental death, fifteen-year-old Lindsey has been the good girl--good daughterm good friend, good student. She puts everyone's needs before her own. Secretly though, she's frustrated by her family's silence about Mark; she wishes she had the never to tell off on of her so-called best friends, a queen bee who wants the new boy at school all to herself; and she longs to ditch obligations that prevent her from starring in the school musical. But instead of speaking her mind, Lindsey does somethine else. She starts to steal-and immediately wonders how good she really is.
The pressure to be what others expect fuels Lindsey's impulse to take things. Each time the risk becomes greater, and each time she thinks she'll be caught. Wants to be caught. And then, finally she is...

I've never read a book about a theif before, so I though t it would be a cool change of pace. And it was. At the beginning of the book, When Lindsay first steals, and he sister gets blamed for it, I thought that was going to contune for the whole book, and I'm glad that it didn't. If it did, I probably wouldn't have finished it. I also liked when she asked her principal about switching lockers, and what her excuse was. Then the chain of events that lead to the ultimate downfall at the end of the book.
The charachters didn't seem to mesh well with each other, some relationships to believable or unbelieveable to be real. And the cover didn't make much sense in relationship to the book. Overall, it was good, with a good plot, but some of the senerios didn't seem to make much sense..


Friday, May 28, 2010


   Hello everyone! It's Amy, and I don't really  have a review....I just felt like posting and I wanted to apologize for being gone. I also wanted to say two things (and I'm very very very very late at saying them!!): happy book launch day to Liz Kessler and a happy blogaversary (I know I spelled that wrong)  to Khy. Sorry for being so late one those!! And thank you to all of our followers!!! We have 8 now!!! I know that's nothing compared to other blogs, but we are excited.                                                                                                                         
   I'm reading about seven books at the moment, so that's why I haven't posted. I did read a comic book. It's called Indiana Jones and the Tomb of the Gods, but it's the fourth in a series, and I didn't read the first three. So, I can't really tell you what's going on. Great art though! Um...This post is really awful. Oh! I deleted the picture of me lying on the books in our Buddie Post, because it looked quite bad. Lydia, don't be mad I bet all of our followers will stop reading after this. Bye!

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Lush by Natasha Friend

It's Lydia, and I have another review (yay!) although reviews are helpful, I think they are getting kind of boring, so PLEASE give me some tips about things to post about OTHER than reviews. Thanks!

Lush by Natasha Friend (summery from inside of the front flap)
Samantha has a secret....It's hard to be a thirteen-year-old girl. But it's even harder when your father's a drunk. It adds an extra layer to everything-your family's reactions to things, the friends you're willing to bring home, the way you see yourself and the world. For Samantha, it's something that's been going on for so long that she's almost used to it. Only, you never get used to it. Especially when it starts to get worse.
Sam knows things have to stop. But she doesn't know how to make them stop. So she picks a random girl in the library and starts sending her notes, asking for advice. And she keeps an extra-close eye on her little brother, trying to protect him from getting hurt. Sam doesn't want her family to fall apart. But that might be what has to happen for things to be okay again.

This book was compleatly amazing. I love Natasha Friend. She's a great author, and I've read Bounce, Perfect and now Lush and they were pretty freakin amazing. The book starts great with Sam sending the note in the library, and ends amazingly, with...well I'm not going to spoil it. But when Sam goes to the party...that part was so freaking awesome, and shows Sam excatly what alchol will do to people. I would recomend this book to anyone. It seems like a girl book, but I think guys would love it too. Lush is written well, and powerful and kind of moving, while also being compleatly AWESOME!


Sunday, May 23, 2010

My First Middle-Grade Review!

Ok, it's Lydia again, and Amy has not posted in a while becasue she is (once again) book-hopping, and just got two new ones that she has been DYING for! I'm personally dying for Thirteen Plus One by Lauren Myracle, but that's just me... ok, on to the review!!

It's Raining Cupcakes by Lisa Schroeder (summary from inside flap of the book)
Tweleve-year-old Isabel is dying to get out of Oregon. She spends her free time in the library, reading and dreaming about faraway places. When her mom decides to open a cupcake shop in their little town of Willow, Isabel feels just like buttercream frosting to a cupcake--stuck.
It seems as if it will be another disappointing summer, until Isabel learns of a baking contest. If she can come up with a winning recipe, she might have a chance of competing in the bake-off in New York City!
But Isabel's best friend, Sophie, is also entering the contest, and things always seem to go Sophie's way. To make matters worse, Isabel and her mom don't excatly see eye-to-eye on the type of recipe Isabel should enter.

I thought that this was a cute read. It's exam time, and it kind of relieved the stress of exams for a few minutes a day. I liked it a lot, but there were some parts of it that didn't seem very real to me, like when Isbels's hair gets messed up, that just didn't seem very much like that something that would happen. And the relationship between Sophie and Isabel was kind of shaky throughout the book.
Other than a few small flaws, It's Raining Cupcakes was was a fun, cute and sticky sweet book, just like cupcakes!


Friday, May 14, 2010

Reading Slump?

ok, so, as you can tell from the title, I'm in a reading slump. And if you haven't guessed yet, it's Lydia. well, it's not really a slupm, but I'm reading a series that I started a while ago, and am finishing. I didn't want to post a review for a book that would spoil the rest of the seires. Plus I'm rereading two of my favorite books. 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass and 20 Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler. I might post a review on 11 Birthdays, but I'm not sure yet, because tomorrow my family is having a garage sale, and I don't know how much reading time I'll have.

So there anything you'd like me to post about to keep me from going so long between posts?? Please comment. thanks!!

Sunday, May 2, 2010

In My Mailbox (Lydia)

In My Mailbox was started and hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren. It's a weekly meme where you post about the books that you've gotten in the past week.

I'm happy, because I just got back from the library by my cousin's house, and have a ton of books! I'm going to write the title and author, and then something about the book. I guess this will be the format for most of my In My Mailboxes'....

Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen - I got this book at Barnes and Nobel on Friday and am really excited to read it!!
My 13th Season by Kristi Roberts - This book looks awesome! I love books about girls on boys sports teams! I started reading it in the library, and let me tell you, it is AMAZING! far.
Lush by Natasha Friend - After I read Perfect and  Bounce I've wanted to read Lush, so I'm excited about it!
The Good Girl by Kerry Cohen Hoffmann - This book looks awesome. I've never read a book about a girl who's a theif, and hopefully it'll wow me!
The Kind of Friends We Used to Be by Frances O'Roark Dowell - I love this cover! It's really cute and totally awesome!
Th Invisible Rules of the Zoe Lama  by Tish Cohen - This book looks a little juvinile, but there are some kids books that I really like!
Teen, Inc. by Stefan Pentrucha - WOAH! This book looks amazing! It's about a boy who's parents are killed, and a company takes custody of him, and they control every part of his life, like who he can date, ect. Awesome? Maybe...
The Homeschool Liberation League by Lucy Frank - I saw this book on Sarah's blog and really wanted to read it!!

Well, that's In My Mailbox for this Sunday. I'm still reading Uglies, but it's taken me longer than I thougt, because I have to read The Time Travlers Wife for school, and they're both long. So...yeah.
ps- i guess toodles is my new thing!

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Book-Related Update?

It's Lydia, and currently I have no books to review, but sometimes that is a good thing, because it means that I can post about random stuff that still have to do with books. So I guess this is kind of a update on book-related stuff. But I'm not really sure. Oh, and the reason that Amy has not posted in a while is because she is on a trip to Washington DC, so that is why she has not posted in a while..yeah.

Guess what! Right now I'm at my cousins house, and will be here for a while, and I just found out something VERY HAPPY AND GOOD!!! I can walk to the library by their house! Well, as long as I take my cousin with me..Hopefully he will want to go with me tomorrow, because their hours on Sunday are 1-5.

Books I've read in April: Ok, I can't really post about this because my list of books is at my house, and I didn't bring it with me so I can't really post anything about that.

Currently Reading: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. This book is GREAT! I now understand why Khy is such a HUGE Scott Westerfeld fangirl! He writes AMAZINGLY! It's such a descriptive book, and the charachters are written so well! This is the first Scott Westerfeld I've read, and can't wait to get Pretties, Specials, Extras, Leviathan and all the other books he's written (if there are any other, I'm not 100% sure how many books he's written).

Uh......I don't really have anything else to say, but hopefully I'll be back tomorrow to participate in In My Mailbok (hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren)!!
ps- there i go saying toodles again...oh well, i'm weird...

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

It's Lydia, and I'm very happy right now, for 2 reasons, 1. I have another review! Yay!! And 2. We don't have school on Friday! I don't know or care why, but we're out and that is a GOOD thing! But I get my retainer tomorrow. So that puts a damper on this otherwise happy day! ok, on to the review!

The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart (Ruby Oliver, #1) summerization from back of the book.
Fifteen-year-old Ruby Oliver has had a rough ten days. In the past ten days she:
  • lost her boyfriend (#13 on the list)
  • lost her best friend (Kim)
  • lost all her other friends (Nora, Cricket)
  • did something suspicious with a boy (#10)
  • did something advanced with a boy (#15)
  • had an argument with a boy (#14)
  • had a panic attack (scary)
  • lost a lacrosse game (she's the goalie)
  • failed a math test (she'll make it up)
  • hurt Meghan's feelings (even though they aren't really friends)
  • became a social outcast (no one to sit with at lunch)
  • had graffiti written about her in the girls' bathroom (who knows what was in the boys'!?!)
But don'y worry-Ruby lives to tell the tale. And make more lists.

AH! This was THE cutest book!! I love Ruby Oliver! She's so funny, and extremely easy to relate to! I actually started The Boyfriend List a few weeks ago, and stopped (for some weird reason). Then today at school I had two tests, so I found it in my locker and brought it with me to class. I just finished reading it, and LOVED it! I love how Ruby put the footnotes at the end of each page to enlighten on her stories, and how the charachters related, even when they didn't get along. The senarios seemed so real that I lost myself in them. There were parts that I laughed, parts where I wanted to kill a charachter, and throughout the entire book, I was thinking to myself, "I know what that feels like! I'm there right now, or I've been there!" I can relate to Ruby so much and overall LOVED Ruby Oliver #1!

I just reread that, and think that it was a great review! I know that in my last post, I said that I was reading Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist but I left it at home today, so I finished this instead. Because I just finished The Boyfriend List I don't have anything to say that I'm currently reading!
ps-toodles??? oh well, i'm weird..

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Two Important Things!

It's Lydia and I have five important things to talk about. I know that the title says two, but the first three of them are not really that important..

Ok, 1. I'm so sorry i haven't posted in a while, but I have three tests and 2 projects this week, and a test and 3 projects next week. I don't want to study, so I'm doing this instead. I like this form of procrastionation. It's fun.

2. I am the co-winner of Alea (of Pop Culture Junkie, which is's Meg Cabot Runaway Blog Tour! I won a $50 iTunes gift card! I know this is really braggy and rude, but it's the first contest I've like, ever won, so I'm excited!

3. I've decied to start labeling my posts. I'm not really sure what this does, but I'm going to try it and see what it does/if it works/how I'm going to label things.

4. Happy Release Day to Liz Kessler!! Today is the US release of Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret!! Amy is very excited, and has already got it. I have to finish Castle in the Mist before I can even go to the bookstore. And a lot of other books. I have to reduce my TBR pile. By a lot. Hopefully I'll finish this, and have time to read before dinner. Happy (US) Release Day Liz!!

5. I have a review! I know it's been forever, but better late than never. 
Dirty Little Secrets by C.J. Omololu (summerization from frount flap of book)
     From the outside, Lucy's home looks normal. Inside the front door is where the secrets begin. Towering piles of newspapers and magazines. Bags of junk flooding every inch of open space. The rotting smell permeating the air. This is what she's kept from everyone-that her mothers compulsive hoarding has reduced their lives to garbage...literally.
     With just two years until graduation, Lucy finally feels like a normal life is within her grasp. Her new best friend, Kaylie, and her longtime crush, Josh, make a future seem almost possible.
     Then one morning Lucy comes home to find something she never expected, something that will change her life forever. And she must ask herself-how far can she go to protect her family's secrets?

Dirty Little Secrets was such a great book. It kind of confused me how Lucy kept telling stories about what happened in the past, because I'd lost where we were in the story. I also love the cover! I really got into this book, and read it in only a few hours! It was written really well, and I loved how Lucy solved her problem at the end of the book. The charachters meshed as well as their relationships descirbed, and C.J. didn't overdo it. I really do not like it when an author overdescribes the relationship between charachters. Overall, Dirty Little Secrets was a really gripping book that wouldn't let me put it down until I found out what had happened!

Ok. I guess I should go back to studying now...I don't want to, but before I go.....
The book I'm currently reading is..well, I'm reading 2: The Time Travlers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (for school, but it's still really good, and I hope to do a post on it) and Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist by Liz Kessler.
thanks for reading!!

Sunday, April 11, 2010

Spring Break=Almost Over

It's Lydia, and ok, I haven't posted my next book for 2 reasons (1) i'm lazy and (2) Spring Break is almost over, and I don't want to think about it..but this is half of the post I told you about yesterday, and so here it is:
Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher (summerization from Goodreads)
Clay Jenson returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker -his calssmate and crush- who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains why there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out how he made the list.

This book is right up my alley. I love books with mysteries, suicide, death or anything like that, so this book is perfect for Lydia. I first saw this book at an airport in MAY last year. And I just last week got it. Yeah, I know, I'm not very productitive....Ok, on to the review!

Th1rteen R3asons Why was not at all what I expected. It was SO much better! I really liked it, and it was emotional, and romantic and funny and moving, and everything else, all wrapped up in into one book! Even the cover of the book was AMAZING! The cover really showed you what was going on, and I loved how the girl on the cover (I think it's Hannah) was on the playground, because the playground had a lot to do with Hannah. Or at least a milestone in Hannah's life. The charachters seemed so real! Jay Asher wrote a great book, full of mystery, and amazing!

thanks for reading!

Saturday, April 10, 2010

Lydia is ANGRY

Ok, so I just spent an hour and a half working on my BEST POST EVER! Then my stupid computer decided it didn't like it and shut off. Now I've lost most of my post. I'm extremely angry right now, and will fix it and post it later. I'm sorry if this dissapoints anyone.

Saturday, April 3, 2010

Spring Break!

hey ya'll! It's Lydia, and I'm on my spring break this week, and have had TONS of time to read, so I have 2, no 3 books to review for you guys.

1. Fang by James Patterson *WARNING: the following summarization/review may contain spoilers from the Maximum Ride series* Max and Fang have never been closer than ever, and the flock is starting to get annoyed. Max and Fang's relationship may be tearing the flock apart. Then one day Angel randomly announces that "Fang will be the first to die." This freaks Max out. When they are helping out hunger relief in Africa, Dr. something or other (you know i'm horrible with names)....announces that there is another winged kid. Dylan. And he was created to be Max's perfect other half.

Oh my gosh. I know I say this every time, but I LOVED THIS BOOK! (I'm sorry Jennifer, but) Hate List has been demoted to my 3rd favorite book ever. the Maximum Ride series has been promoted to the 2nd place spot. James Patterson is an AMAZING author, and I have nothing but positive remarks for this book. I read one page and was hooked. My mom came into my room at 11:00 the other night, and ordered me to go to bed, so I literally slept with this book in my arms. I know it sounds weird, and well, it is, but It's HIGH praise. Then I woke up and finished it. It was written so well, and the twists and turns were perfectly planned, and I'm begging James, if you're reading this, WRITE MORE MAX! I cannot get enough of this series. My favorite part was their birthday where they all turn a year older, and I'm FINALLY the same age as Max, Fang and Iggy! OMG I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

2. Mr. Monk in Trouble by Lee Goldberg (description from
Ever since a 1962 unsolved train robbery made it famous, people have flocked to the town of Trouble in California's gold country, searching for the booty that train robbers supposedly dumped off the Golden Rail Express in a botched heist. When the town's museum's watchman is murdered, Adrian Monk and his assistant, Natalie, are sent to investigate. But if Monk isn't careful, he'll learn that the town of Trouble can live up to its name.

I love the Monk books, and the TV series on USA, so it made this book a lot easier to read! There were a lot of twists and turns, and what happens to Natalie at the end of the book, kept me on the edge of my seat. It was SO good! I HEART MONK!

3. Philippa Fisher's Fairy Godsister by Liz Kessler. I think Amy already posted the summarization on this, so I'm going to skip ahead to the review.

This book was recommended to me by Amy, and I thought it was really cute. I would recommend it for maybe a little bit younger readers, but it was still a really fun, cute, inspiring read! Liz continues to write amazing books!!

Yes, Amy you did approve the picture!
If you're wondering, Lydia is currently reading: Th1rteen R3asons Why by Jay Asher. Yes. the one and the three are there on purpose!
Happy Easter!!

Redwall by Brian Jacques-reviewed by Amy

This the first story in the Redwall series. This book is about the animals of Redwall Abbey. They are very peacful, until the evil rat, Cluny the Scourge comes. Their main hope is to find the legendary sword of Martin the Warrior to defeat Cluny and his army.

This book is very, very, very good. I really liked it. Brian Jacques wrote beautifully and had great characters (my favorite was Constance the Badger if your wondering). I'll be reading the second one soon. It's a prequel to this one, though.

By the way, please ignore that awful picture of me laying on the pile of books. I do not like it. Lydia, I don't think I approved that one!

If you're wondering what I'm reading now, it is Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne.

Saturday, March 27, 2010


Hey, it's Amy. I have finished three books and four comics, and I still haven't reviewd. You can see by the title how I feel. Anyway, here's the reviews:

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler- Lydia already told you what this is about, so I will just say what I think. AMAZING. I loved it. Great story, really awesome characters, just good!

Indiana Jones and the Pyramid of the Sorcerer by Ryder Windham- This book takes place after the original three movies. Indy is called by one of the men who asked him to find the Ark of the Covenant. He is asked to find the legendary Hall of Records, which is said to hold knowledge of everything in the past, present, and even the future. Indy is skeptical if the myth is true, but soon sets off to find it, before the Nazis.

I got this book in a cool box thing at my old school's book fair. It was called the Indiana Jones Action Pack. It came with this book, the second one, an Indiana Jones Handbook, and an awesome poster of Indy in front of a king cobra. The poster is hanging proudly on my wall. This book was really, really good. It wasn't as good as Twenty Boy Summer, but I enjoyed it. I could hear Harrison Ford's (who I have a huge crush on!) voice saying the lines. It even made me laugh at some lines. I love the movies, and it was good to have another adventure. The are sort of "kids books" I guess, but who cares?

The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks-Ronnie does not want to see her dad. He practically left her family to be a concert pianist, and now her mom wants her to spend the entire summer with him? What could be worse? Many things. During this book there is tragedy, drama, and some humor.

This book was also really good. I was sort of disappointed because I loved Dear John so much, and this book wasn't as good. It was good, but not amazing. I want to see the movie, too!

Batman- I read a special edition Batman thing with four comic books inside it, plus a floor plan and blue print of Batman's new house (which was cool. There's a tree in the middle of it!) This was published in 1976.

In all the comics there's fighting, mystery, and great drawings. I want to be an artist, so I noticed that stuff. I really liked all of them, and I want more comic books!!

Bye, bye! And Lydia, it's your turn for the Weekly Bible Verse!

Monday, March 22, 2010

Ok...So I Have 2 Reviews

Hey y'all! It's Lydia, and so in our last post, I kind of lied, saying I'd post soon, and clearly that's not true....But, I have TWO books to review!!

20 Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler is about Frankie and Anna, best friends who are about to go to the beach for three weeks together! Fashionsta Frankie is convinced she can help Anna find a perfect summer romance. But what Frankie doesn't know is that, behind Frankie's back, Anna has already had her summer romance. With Frankie's older brother, Matt, and it was right before his tragic death a year ago.

Sarah, this book was AMAZING! It was awesome, and I think you need to write another one!! 20 Boy Summer was really written well, and the huge twist in the end was something that I DIDN'T expect. The charachter's had great chemestry, it was like they grew up together! Haha, (when you read it, you'll get it, because they did grow up together!) I really liked the whole mystery of the sea glass and the importance of it to Anna and Frankie. I'd recomend it to any teen girl with a love of chick lit and friendships!

Finally by Wendy Mass is about 11-year old, Rory whp's about to turn 12. Over the course of her 11 years, she's kept a list of everything her parents has told her she could do when she was 12. Now that she's almost there, she gets to take everything on the list and do them. But then everything begins to go horribly wrong.

Wendy has, once again, amazed me with her awesome storyline and writing skills. I also LOVED how she brought Amanda and Leo back from one of her former books, Eleven Birthdays. It absoutly amazes me when authors do that. It one of my favorite things that writers can do. Wendy, please make a book about a girl turning 13!! I love Wendy Mass and her books!

Sorry for not posting!! Thanks for reading!!

Friday, March 12, 2010


Hey y'all! It's BOTH Amy and Lydia, posting together, because I (Lydia, the one typing) came to spend the weekend at Amy's!! I'm really hyper right now! we were really bored earlier, so we pulled all her books off her bookshelf, and took pictures of it. Here they are:
This is the pile of books, and you can kind of see my suitcase on the side.

This is me (I think this is a bad picture) laying down on the pile of books.

This is Amy looking over one of her favorite books, Eyes like stars, by Lisa Mantchev. I like this picture.

And this is my, looking over one og my favorite books, 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson.
So yes....That is our wonderful photo montoge of our afternoon. We were very bored. So, you're welcome, if this satisified anyones needs. If not, oh well!
~amy and lydia~

Thursday, March 11, 2010

MERMAIDS!!!!! and a review

Hey, it's Amy (again). And as you can see, I LOVE mermaids! In case you missed my obsession with the Emily Windsnap series. And no I am not copying "the Story Siren"(who is awesome!). I have loved mermaids since I was about 5. Ask Lydia. I was bored so I wanted to tell you all the mermaid books and/or series I've read.

Emily Windsnap series by Liz Kessler
Water trilogy by Kara dalkey
Ingo series by Helen Dunmore (only finished the first one so far)
Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman
Indigo by Alice Hoffman (I think it's mermaids....I can't remember)

I think that's it. Wow, I thought I read so many more....I have some other ones that I haven't read yet, so yeah.

I also just finished a book called Access Denied (and Other Eighth Grade Error Messages) by Denise Vega. AWESOME!! This is the second book in the series. The first is Click Here (To Find Out How I Survived Seventh Grade). They are about a girl named Erin P. Swift, who is pretty much a computer genius. And she has to deal with boys, school, and DRAMA DRAMA DRAMA. I love these books!!!!

By the way, I've been talking to Lydia and she said she would blog about a book she's read soon. Also, this weekend there will be an awesome post! Wait and see.....

Weekly Bible Verse: John 1:12-Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.

Friday, March 5, 2010

Amy is back!

Hey! As you can see I have returned to blogging! So sorry I haven't posted in a while! Lots going on with me, plus I book hop a lot. By that I mean I have about 8 books started right now. I do that quite a lot.

Anyway, I finally finished Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. I can't tell you much besides that it's about a boy named Ethan who hates living in a small southern town, and this girl moves in and a bunch of weird, supernatural things happen. That's pretty much all I can tell you.

"EH MA GOODNESS"(talking like the girls from The Clique series). This book is so AMAZING!!! AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!! Is it legal to marry a book where I live? I even e-mailed the two authors (embarresing myself by asking a dumb question, too).

The reason it took me so long to read it was, I stopped near the beginning to reread Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist (the third book). I wanted to read it before the fourth one came out, which I found out today doesn't come out till April. Ugh! I don't like waiting. I don't think it's fair that English people get it before us. I mean, I know Liz Kessler lives there, but still!

I'm just going to talk about all of the Emily Windsnap books.

The Tail of Emily Windsnap-It's about a girl named Emily Windsnap who lives on a boat with her mother. She's never been swimming, taken a bath (she did take showers though!), or done anything else to actually be in water. Until one day she convinces her mother to let her have swimming lessons at school. When she gets in, she's a natural swimmer, but in a few seconds, her legs begin to stick together and feel heavy and numb. Her teacher pulls her out and tells her it's just cramps. Well, it wasn't. She went swimming again and grew a tail. It turns out her father is a merman who has been kept in jail because it's illegal for a mer and a human to be together. Emily also makes a friend in this book: Shona.

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep- Emily and her family and Shona's family move to All Points Island. Emily and Shona wake up the kraken, Neptune's killer pet.

Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist- Emily finds a diomand ring that is part of a curse involving Neptune.

I know the last two are a bit vague, but I didn't want to give away spoilers. So....Bye!

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

TWO books! and sorry!!

hey y'all! I'm SO sorry! i've been SUPER busy lately! But, it's Lydia and I have TWO books to review for you!!

Hate List by Jennifer Brown, is about Valerie...something or other, who's boyfriend opened fire on their school 5 monthe ago. Now she has to go back to school, and face everyone who thinks she was a part of it.

OH. MY. GOSH. I'm never saying I love a book again, because I doubt that any other book can match up to this one. (Except maybe Harry Potter...) I can't really say anything more about it, unless you want me to spoil it.. This book is the best book I've read this year, and it's 2nd place in my favorite books list. And if you know me, that is an INSANELY huge deal! Jenniferm you need another book! you're AMAZING!

The other book i've read is....The Naughty List by Suzanne Young. It's about Tessa, the captian of the Smitten Kittens cheerleading team, and she and her friends are also spys who catch cheating boyfriends.

This is the first Tenner I've read, so congrats Suzanne! I thought it was a really cute book, and I would highly reccomend it. I liked the twist at the end, and what two certin people had to do with the plot of the book. So, very cute book!

So, I've read two AWESOME books recently and I'm working on another!!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Lydia is confused...

ok, so I was checking out everyone's blogs, and I noticed that almost everyone has posted 'Waiting on Wednesday'. Can someone please explain to me what weekly memes are, either by email, or by comment. That would be GREATLY appriciated.
PS- i'm a horrible speller.....please forgive!

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Hey y'all! Sorry!

Hey y'all!!! It's Lydia, and I'm soooo sorry that I haven't blogged in so long, I've been SO busy recently! I know that we are supposted to do a DBV every day, but how bout we do a WBV? Weekly Bible Verse? I think that would work better for us, and we wouldn't stress about having to find and blog a verse every day!
I'm currently reading Hate List by Jennifer Brown, and OMG, this book is AMAZING! and there is not much more to say, unless you want me to type AH over and over (the blogging equivelent of a scream), and I don't want to sound really fangirly about it either....(yes, I agree with Khy from The Frentic Reader).
Well, it's about 11:00 PM my time (i'm not sure where the rest of you live, and i'm not going to sound like a creeper and ask) and I have school tomorrow :(! so, I should probably go!

Friday, February 12, 2010


Hey people! It's Amy, and I know I forgot the DBV for two days. I think it's only been two....Here they are

2 Timothy 3:16-All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.

Romans 10:9-If you declare with your mouth, 'Jesus is Lord,' and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (I love both of these!)

So, I haven't finished the book I'm reading (Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl), but it's REALLY good! Kami and Margie seem awesome on their YouTube vlogs! I'm also really happy because I didn't have to go to school today because of the snow! What's really funny is, it didn't snow til after school would have ended. :) hehe...