Wednesday, February 24, 2010

TWO books! and sorry!!

hey y'all! I'm SO sorry! i've been SUPER busy lately! But, it's Lydia and I have TWO books to review for you!!

Hate List by Jennifer Brown, is about Valerie...something or other, who's boyfriend opened fire on their school 5 monthe ago. Now she has to go back to school, and face everyone who thinks she was a part of it.

OH. MY. GOSH. I'm never saying I love a book again, because I doubt that any other book can match up to this one. (Except maybe Harry Potter...) I can't really say anything more about it, unless you want me to spoil it.. This book is the best book I've read this year, and it's 2nd place in my favorite books list. And if you know me, that is an INSANELY huge deal! Jenniferm you need another book! you're AMAZING!

The other book i've read is....The Naughty List by Suzanne Young. It's about Tessa, the captian of the Smitten Kittens cheerleading team, and she and her friends are also spys who catch cheating boyfriends.

This is the first Tenner I've read, so congrats Suzanne! I thought it was a really cute book, and I would highly reccomend it. I liked the twist at the end, and what two certin people had to do with the plot of the book. So, very cute book!

So, I've read two AWESOME books recently and I'm working on another!!

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Lydia is confused...

ok, so I was checking out everyone's blogs, and I noticed that almost everyone has posted 'Waiting on Wednesday'. Can someone please explain to me what weekly memes are, either by email, or by comment. That would be GREATLY appriciated.
PS- i'm a horrible speller.....please forgive!

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Hey y'all! Sorry!

Hey y'all!!! It's Lydia, and I'm soooo sorry that I haven't blogged in so long, I've been SO busy recently! I know that we are supposted to do a DBV every day, but how bout we do a WBV? Weekly Bible Verse? I think that would work better for us, and we wouldn't stress about having to find and blog a verse every day!
I'm currently reading Hate List by Jennifer Brown, and OMG, this book is AMAZING! and there is not much more to say, unless you want me to type AH over and over (the blogging equivelent of a scream), and I don't want to sound really fangirly about it either....(yes, I agree with Khy from The Frentic Reader).
Well, it's about 11:00 PM my time (i'm not sure where the rest of you live, and i'm not going to sound like a creeper and ask) and I have school tomorrow :(! so, I should probably go!

Friday, February 12, 2010


Hey people! It's Amy, and I know I forgot the DBV for two days. I think it's only been two....Here they are

2 Timothy 3:16-All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness.

Romans 10:9-If you declare with your mouth, 'Jesus is Lord,' and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. (I love both of these!)

So, I haven't finished the book I'm reading (Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl), but it's REALLY good! Kami and Margie seem awesome on their YouTube vlogs! I'm also really happy because I didn't have to go to school today because of the snow! What's really funny is, it didn't snow til after school would have ended. :) hehe...

Thursday, February 11, 2010

grrr....lydia's forgetful...

Ok, sorry about not explaning the title of my last post. (oh yeah, and it's Lydia, hey!). I was wondering why Amy didn't post her DBV for yesterday. oh well, sorry! also, who likes Harry Potter??? we LOVE it, and I want to know y'all's opinions!
thanks! love y'all!

Why didn't amy post?

Hey y'all! It's Lydia (again!), and I have a new book to review for y'all! AND I have the daily bible verse for y'all! (okay, so i just reread what I just posted, and I think I say y'all a lot. oh well, it's the southern girl in us, amy does it too, not the point). Yesterday, I finished Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella. I love Sophie, she's a great author. I've read almost all of her books. You know British authors are pretty awesome. I guess it's because I love British people. Ok, moving on to the review.

Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella is about 25 year old Lexi Smart, who is not where she wants to be in the career, ins't the most attractive girl, and her dad just died. The night before his funeral, Lexi is out with some friends, and falls down. She hits her head, and wakes up in the hospital. When she wakes up she has perfect hair, perfect teeth, perfect skin, and when her belongings are brought to her, she finds a dimond ring (wedding ring??), a Louis Vittuin purse, and everything from Chanel lipstick to M.A.C. eyeshadow. Has she been put in another person's body? Has she been in a coma? What happened to Lexi Smart?

I loved this book! (I know that I say this all the time, but I really loved this book). This book is extremely well written, and Sophie knows how to write an amazing book on such a hard topic. There were so many twist and turns of things that only Lexi knew, and how she found them out. I loved the twist on what part Jon played in the plot. The only thing I didn't like about this book, was the amount of cuss words, and intimate scenes. I give this (AMAZING) book 12 out of 14 stars!!

Bible verse for today (the 11th):
Phillipians 2:5 says
"Your attitude should be the same as that of Jesus Christ"

Thanks y'all! ~lydia~

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

No New Books :(!

hey ya'll! it's lydia, and as the title says, sadly i haven't read any new books lately, although i'm almost finished with the one that i'm reading, anyways, i have the daily bible verse for today!!

Hebrews 11:1 says:
Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

thanks! ~lydia~

Monday, February 8, 2010

And Then Everything Unraveled by Jennifer Sturman

Hey everyone it's lydia, and I just finished another book today in class, and I'm really excited to review it for ya'll!

And Then Everything Unraveled by Jennifer Sturman is about Delia Truesdale, who's mother (T.K.) just dissapered from an expedition in Antartica. Everyone (her housekeeper, her mother's assistant, ect.) assumes that T.K. is dead. But Delia knows different, while she is sent to New York to live with her two (possibly crazy) aunts, she wants to investigate her mother's dissaperance. She meets Natalie, a genius girl with a strange intrest with Delia's mother, and Quinn, a hot and popular guy who's rich dad might have somthing to do with T.K.'s absence. And then Delia begins to unravel some secrets about everyone's past, and how it could affect the future....

I L.O.V.E.D this book!!! Jennifer Sturman wrote this book extremely well, and I got very lost in this book! It is full of twists and turns that are written well into the book! Thanks for this amazing book, Jennifer! I give it 13 out of 14 stars!

:D :D :D

Hey! It's Amy! Ok, one of my favorite authors, Liz Kessler, had a contest on her Facebook page to win all her books, signed. I didn't win the books :(, but she's gonna send a set of signed bookmarks to everyone who entered!!! WHOO!!!

Speaking of Liz Kessler, I just finished another one of her books today. Philippa Fisher and the Dream Maker's Daughter. I'm going to try to tell you what happens without ruining the first one. Philippa and her parents go to a cottage in a small village for vacation, when she meets a mysterious girl named Robyn. I think that's all I can say without a spoiler. I loved this book! I read it in four days. It had so much more mystery and magic than the first one. I need to review the Emily Windsnap series, (also by Liz Kessler). They are awesome, too, but I don't feel like doing it right now.

Daily Bible verse for today: Ephesians 2:8-"For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith, and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God--". :)

Sunday, February 7, 2010


Hello, again...It's Amy. I'm very bored, so I thought I would blog. I'm also putting off doing my homework. I haven't finished the book I'm reading at the moment. I'm almost done, but I'm going to review a book I read a while ago. And I want to review it before Lydia beats me to it! Lydia, you gotta finish this book!

Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Manchev(I'm sorry if I spelled that wrong). This is about a girl named Beatric Shakespeare, who lives in a theater where all the characters in every play ever written live. This book is AMAZING!It is a 14 out of 14 stars. I loved it so freakin much, and I can't wait till the sequel, which name escapes me. Perchance something. Anyway, you will love the characters! If you have read or seen the plays, the characters are much more modern, I guess you could say. I mean, I've only read Midsummer Nights Dream, after I read this. I know I'm ranting. I have nothing else to say. Go get this book! Right now!

We will also do daily Bible verses. Lydia does the odd days and I do the evens. We start that tomorrow. Bye bye!

Saturday, February 6, 2010

Welcome! (2)

I'm Amy, the second blogger. Well, Lydia pretty much explained it all with her post, except for things like we are Christians (proud of it), we love to make art, we both love to write, blah blah blah. So, I'll just get on with book reviews!

Philippa Fisher's Fairy Godsister by Liz Kessler (who is amazing!)- It's not really in the teen genre, which is mainly the books we read, but it's still awesome. This story is about a girl named Philippa Fisher (nah duh) whose best friend Charlotte is moving away to start a new life. On the day before Charlotte leaves, she comes over to say goodbye to Philippa. They go outside and start making daisy chains. Philippa picks one daisy that seemed...different. She had this weird feeling that this daisy would turn into a flower at midnight. Little did she know that a feeling turns out to be a reality.

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks-It was BEAUTIFUL! I loved it. I just saw the movie today and they killed it! I like the movie, mainly because Channing Tatum is in it, but I like the book better. That's usually always the case. Anyway, this story is in the perspective of John Tyree, an army soldier. The story starts out telling about his childhood and his dad and how the army straightened him out. One day while he was on leave in his home town, he saves a girl's bag when it fell off the pier into the ocean. Her name is Savannah. They soon fall in love, and as the story goes on, they go through trajedy, confusion, drama, etc.

Friday, February 5, 2010


this is lydia, part one of two in the ownership of this YA review blog. we are just teenagers who have the insane ability to get, well, lost in a book! part two of two is my bff forever, amy! we will both be reviewing (for now) books that we are reading. as we get more into blogging, we will start accepting ARCs for review, but thats prob not going to be until late 2010 or even 2011. if you have ANY questions please feel free to email us at: i check it every day, but i don't know about amy. i need to text her and tell her i have the blog set up...sorry, i lost my train of thought...oh yeah. i will try to update the blog every time i read a book, and if i can't i'm sorry, but it's hard with schoolwork and everything.